Jump to content
NBC Sports Edge Forums

why no W for Wheeler?


ssmarsh

Recommended Posts

Dan Wheeler came in to the NY/TB game in the 8th with TB up 6-4. He gave up the 2-run dinger to Damon and left with the game tied at 6 after 8 innings. Rivera immediately serves up back to back jacks to Crawford and Longoria and TB goes on to win 8-6. Wheeler gets the blown save, which my league counts, but I was expecting him to get the vulture W as well since he was the pitcher of record when TB took the lead. Instead Shouse, who pitched to two guys in the 9th, gets the W. What gives?

Link to post
Share on other sites

On the post game thing, they asked the official scorer, or atleast got word from him, that he gave the Win to Shouse because he pitched effectively, while Wheeler didn't. Which is just BS. But that was the reason that was reported, that the OS felt that Shouse deserved the win more than Wheeler because Wheeler was ineffective. Its lame. And made no real sense. But that was the reason given.

Link to post
Share on other sites

The box score on MLB.com has Shouse with the W so I think that's more offical. As for CBS, I see that their box score shows Wheeler with the W, but that appears to be incorrect. Regardless, I didn't get credit for it in my league (which CBS hosts) and I'm a little bitter. B)

Link to post
Share on other sites

From MLB.com's official rules section:

10.17 WINNING AND LOSING PITCHER

(a) The official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher that pitcher whose team assumes a lead while such pitcher is in the game, or during the inning on offense in which such pitcher is removed from the game, and does not relinquish such lead, unless

(1) such pitcher is a starting pitcher and Rule 10.17(B) applies; or

(2) Rule 10.17©applies.

Rule 10.17(a) Comment: Whenever the score is tied, the game becomes a new contest insofar as the winning pitcher is concerned. Once the opposing team assumes the lead, all pitchers who have pitched up to that point and have been replaced are excluded from being credited with the victory. If the pitcher against whose pitching the opposing team gained the lead continues to pitch until his team regains the lead, which it holds to the finish of the game, that pitcher shall be the winning pitcher.

(:) If the pitcher whose team assumes a lead while such pitcher is in the game, or during the inning on offense in which such pitcher is removed from the game, and does not relinquish such lead, is a starting pitcher who has not completed

(1) five innings of a game that lasts six or more innings on defense, or Rule 10.17

(2) four innings of a game that lasts five innings on defense,

then the official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher the relief pitcher, if there is only one relief pitcher, or the relief pitcher who, in the official scorer’s judgment was the most effective, if there is more than one relief pitcher.

Rule 10.17(:lol: Comment: It is the intent of Rule 10.17(:D that a relief pitcher pitch at least one complete inning or pitch when a crucial out is made, within the context of the game (including the score), in order to be credited as the winning pitcher. If the first relief pitcher pitches effectively, the official scorer should not presumptively credit that pitcher with the win, because the rule requires that the win be credited to the pitcher who was the most effective, and a subsequent relief pitcher may have been most effective. The official scorer, in determining which relief pitcher was the most effective, should consider the number of runs, earned runs and base runners given up by each relief pitcher and the context of the game at the time of each relief pitcher’s appearance. If two or more relief pitchers were similarly effective, the official scorer should give the presumption to the earlier pitcher as the winning pitcher.

© The official scorer shall not credit as the winning pitcher a relief pitcher who is ineffective in a brief appearance, when at least one succeeding relief pitcher pitches effectively in helping his team maintain its lead. In such a case, the official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher the succeeding relief pitcher who was most effective, in the judgment of the official scorer.

Rule 10.17© Comment: The official scorer generally should, but is not required to, consider the appearance of a relief pitcher to be ineffective and brief if such relief pitcher pitches less than one inning and allows two or more earned runs to score (even if such runs are charged to a previous pitcher). Rule 10.17(;) Comment provides guidance on choosing the winning pitcher from among several succeeding relief pitchers.

Bottom line is that it's up to the official scorer, but I still think Wheeler should have gotten the W since that what happens 99.99% of the time.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...