NBC Sports Edge Forums

Advice on H2H POINTS Settings. Help please!

So, I'm trying to commish a point based H2H league. I've never done this before and understand the difficulting in balancing everything. 

I'd prefer the balance to be as similar as the traditional 5x5 that I am used to (standard settings, say on Y!).  I don't want a point system that favors aces so much that their the only things that matters.

1) How to limit streaming? Is weekly line up changes the best for this? Wouldn't that mean 2-start pitchers for the week will win most weeks?

2) What point system works? So far I like what I've seen here:

Hitters

Run: 1pt

Single: 1pt

Double: 2pts

Triple: 3pts

Home Run: 4pts

RBI: 1pt

Walk: 1pt

HBP: 1pt

Steal: 2pts

Caught Stealing: -1pt

Pretty standard here, our points don't stack however like u/STLkrolic's league. So a solo HR is 6 (with R and RBI), triple 3, double 2, etc. So our scoring tends to favor power hitters. Also we don't do negative points for K's (just always been that way).

Pitchers

IP: 3pts (so 1 point per out)

Hit: -1pt

Walk: -1pt

Hit Batter: -1pt

Strikeout: 1pt

Earned Run: -2pts

Win: 4pts

Quality Start: 4pts

Loss: -4pts

Save: 4pts

Blown Save: -2pts

Shutout: 15pts

No Hitter: 25pts

Perfect Game: 40pts

I've made it now 14 total teams and a roster of 25 per team:

C, 1b, 2b, 3b, SS, Of, OF, OF, UTIL, UTIL
SP, SP, SP, SP, SP, RP, RP, P 

7 x Bench

Is there anyway to avoid having RP-eligible starters rule the league? Is there anyway to stop teams from picking up the 2-week starters every week? Thanks.

On 3/4/2019 at 11:31 AM, CrypTviLL said:

So, I'm trying to commish a point based H2H league. I've never done this before and understand the difficulting in balancing everything. 

I'd prefer the balance to be as similar as the traditional 5x5 that I am used to (standard settings, say on Y!).  I don't want a point system that favors aces so much that their the only things that matters.