NBC Sports Edge Forums

Jose Garcia 2020 Outlook

1 minute ago, brockpapersizer said:

Could be good, pick him up if you need an SS. Was a breakout prospect last year.

I’m not a big prospect guy like you, but the reports out of spring training this year pre-pandemic caught my eye. He was really impressing. Seems like his minor league stats aren’t telling the full story on him, he’s developing quickly each year, and he might provide some mixed league value.

• Like 2
2 minutes ago, meh2 said:

I’m not a big prospect guy like you, but the reports out of spring training this year pre-pandemic caught my eye. He was really impressing. Seems like his minor league stats aren’t telling the full story on him, he’s developing quickly each year, and he might provide some mixed league value.

He has power. Will play in a good lineup and park and has speed too. Good recipe for fantasy.

Just now, tywalson said:

Hasn’t played above A ball so I would keep expectations of immediate impact low.

Yeah, I don't disagree with that. SS is deep too. In deeper leagues or leagues where you can keep waiver wire guys for cheap or something, he's interesting. He's definitely one of the prospects that when you look at a normal prospect list, he's better in fantasy than real life. 

Doubleheader now tomorrow...scoooooped...

Nice long look with two game tryout tomorrow...if he flashes what he showed in the spring he might just be a sneaky great scoop... its a light day tomorrow for games too so if your league is a next day pickup type of league then now is the time to give Garcia a chance

Bell said "he's going to play."

They gave him millions already...

I'm pumped to watch him play...

Whatdya say Jose!

From back in February:

[...]Garcia could arrive to the big leagues in 2021 or ’22. But if he continues at the current pace, he could be a dynamic shortstop in the future.